The G52GRP Open Day 2013

8 May, 2013

(Selection of photos below; most photos here. See also the Esendex and 7digital blog entries.)

Breakfast in the Hub ... Long day ahead!


Setting up the stalls

Dutch invasion?




Annual cupcake baking competition?!


And some healthier options

Well ... a little chocolate cannot hurt?


Some of the great posters!


GPAC 2013

Left to right: Prof. David Brailsford (School of CS, GPAC Chair), Dr. John Lumley (HP Labs, Bristol, 1984–2009), Neil Kilbride (Esendex Ltd), Prof. Uwe Aickelin (School of CS, Head of School)


All the groups


Distinguished Guests

Neil Kilbride, Esendex, and John Lumley Sam Allen, Google, and Cath Hope, Google


Open Day Fair

Alumni Talks

Simon Stewart, Facebook; Dipa Patel introducing
Cath Hope, Google London Sam Allen, Google Zürich

Mike Booth, BBC


Words of Wisdom

All ears!


Group Project Awards Ceremony

Paul Shannon, 7digital

The 7digital and Esendex Prize for Software Quality to gp12-pos

The School Group Project Prize for Best Project to gp12-nhn2


Happy Winners!

gp12-pos: The 7digital and Esendex Prize for Software Quality

gp12jaa: School's Special Prize for Outstanding Performance

gp12-nhn2: School Group Project Prize for Best Project


Post-awards afternoon tea and mingling!


Special feature: the UNMC G52GRP Open Day, 24 April 2013

Note that three mobility students represented their UNMC group also at the Nottingham Open Day.


Thanks to all who helped making the Open Day 2013 a success! First of all, the group project students! And then a big thank you to our sponsors Esendex and 7digital that provided support lectures, prizes, and help with the judging. Particular thanks to our contacts, Paul Shannon, 7digital, and Neil Kilbride and Alex Lea, Esendex, who put in both a lot of effort and enthusiasm! Another big thank you to the alumni speakers and their respective companies for very interesting talks: Simon Stewart (Facebook), Cath Hope (Google), Sam Allen (Google), Mike Booth (BBC). And then, in no particular order: Head of School Uwe Aickelin. GPAC: David Brailsford (chair), Uwe Aickelin, Neil Kilbride, Alex Lea, John Lumley. Steve Bagley and Alex Pinkney for help with the posters and prize certificates. Nick Reynolds, Tomasz Glazer, and the rest of TSG. Dipa Patel, Maryam Marchenko, Daniel Serotsky, Hannah Robinson, Carolina Gonzalez-Orbegoso, and the rest of the admin team. And last, but not the least, all the group project supervisors!

Last updated 20 June 2013.