E. W. Beth Dissertation Prize: call for nominations

Nominations are invited for the E. W. Beth Dissertation Prize awarded by the European Association for Logic, Language and Information to outstanding dissertations in the fields of Logic, Language and Information. The prize will be awarded to the best dissertation which resulted in a PhD in the year 2003. The dissertations will be judged on the impact they made in their respective fields, breadth and originality of the work, and also on the interdisciplinarity of the work. Ideally the winning dissertation will be of interest to researchers in all three fields.

Who qualifies?
Those who were awarded the PhD degree in the area of Logic, Language and Information between the 1st of January, 2003 and the 31st of December, 2003. There is no restriction on the nationality of the candidate or the university where the PhD was granted. However, after a careful consideration, FoLLI has decided to accept only dissertations written in English.

How to submit?
We only accept electronic submissions. The following documents are required:

  1. the thesis in pdf or ps format (doc/rtf not accepted).
  2. a ten page abstract of the dissertation in ascii format.
  3. a letter of nomination from the thesis supervisor. Self-nominations are not possible; each nomination must be sponsored by the thesis supervisor. The letter of nomination should concisely describe the scope and significance of the dissertation and state when the degree was awarded.
  4. Two additional letters of support, including at least one letter from a referee not affiliated with the academic institution that awarded the Ph.D. degree. All documents must be submitted electronically to beth_award@cs.nott.ac.uk . Hard copy submissions are not possible.

    If you experience any problems with the email submission or do not receive a notification from us within two working days, please write to beth_award@cs.nott.ac.uk or nza@cs.nott.ac.uk .

    Important dates:
    Deadline for Submissions: 1 March 2004
    Notification of Decision: 30 June 2004
    The prize will be handed to the winners at ESSLLI'04 (http://esslli2004.loria.fr/), 16th European Summer School in Logic, Language and Information, 9-20 August, 2004, Nancy, France. Prize winners will be expected to attend the ceremony; funding to make this possible is currently being secured.